Vice Chancellor

Professor Kanak Kanti Barua

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) was established in 1998 as the first medical university of the country after the name of the father of the nation. Since its inception, BSMMU has been serving as the leading medical institution that contributing significantly in growth and improvement of postgraduate medical education in Bangladesh.


Being a medical university with focus on healthcare, medical education and research, the University encourages Innovation, Imagination and Insight among its teachers, residents and staffs to develop a competency framework. This enabling environment ensures that BSMMU graduates are knowledgeable, competent,work-ready and caring healthcare professionals who are critical thinkers, reflective and yet proactive.


As “living the values” is an integral part of BSMMU, the University also places emphasis on active involvement in the community to inculcate a caring attitude among residents, trainees and staff, which is reflected in the camaraderie among them and the community. It also enables residents and students to translate, gather knowledge, enhance communication skills, strengthen professional and technical skills appropriate to be applied in real world situations.


In order to cope with the dynamic changes in healthcare services and the need of the communities, the University has opened many fascinating courses leading to attractive career paths. We would like to advise the young medical graduates to learn more about a particular profession before they pursue any of the courses, so that they understand the future prospects.


We cordially invite you to explore the vibrant and diverse opportunities at BSMMU, discover our teaching, training and research strengths as well as our multiple networks of partners and collaborators around the globe.

Contact Information:

Professor Kanak Kanti Barua

Vice Chancellor

Room: 113, Block: B

Tel: 55165600, 9661065

PABX: 4597, 6666

FAX: 88-02-55165601



PS to Vice Chancellor:

Md. Aminul Islam (Palash) 

PS to Vice Chancellor

PABX: 4520

Phone: 55165600, 9661065

Fax: 88-02-55165601


Name : Prof. Kanak Kanti Barua
Father’s Name : Late Dr. Shubhankar Barua
Mailing Address : Flat- A/3, House – 41, Road- 05 Dhanmondi R/A, Dhaka.
Permanent Address : Vill: Haithkandi, PO: Haithkandi, PS: Mirsarai, Dist: Chittagong
Nationality : Bangladeshi
Marital Status : Married
Children : Two
Religion : Buddhism
BMDC Registration : 6721

Experience :

Designation & Department Institute Duration
Asst. Professor (CC. and regular), Neurosurgery IPGM&R & Rajshashi Medical College Hospital 07.02.1991 to 12.05.1996
Associate Professor, Neurosurgery IPGM&R & BSMMU 13.05.1996 to 18.10.2001
Professor, Neurosurgery Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University 19.10.2001 to 31.12.2018
Chairman Department of Neurosurgery Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University 11.07.2015 to 10.07.2018
Dean, Faculty of Surgery Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University

1st time Elected and served from 02.11.2010 to 09.09.2013

2nd time Elected and served from 10.09.2013 to 03.11.2016

3rd time Elected and serving from 04.11.2016 to 13.08.2018

Syndicate member of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University from 2011 to till date.
Syndicate member of Chittagong Medical University
Syndicate member of Rajshahi Medical University

Present Position in Different Organization:

President Bangladesh College of Physicians and Surgeons 3rd March 2015 to 28th February 2017 to till date.
Vice - President, Bangladesh Medical association.
President, Bangladesh Society of Neurosurgeons.
President Bangladesh Association of Sports Medicine

Position Held in Past:

Acting President, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University Teachers Association.
Chairman, Dhaka Medical College Alumni Association.
Vice President Asian Congress of Neurological Surgeons – 1977-2004
Secretary, Asian Congress of Neurological Surgeons – 2000-2002
Past President – Bangladesh Society of Neurosurgeons - 2008-2012
Past President – Society of Surgeons of Bangladesh - 2012-2014
Secretary General, Bangladesh Society of Neurosurgeons – 1998-2002
Secretary General, Bangladesh Association of Sports Medicine – 1986-1997
Ex. President, South Asian Surgical Care Society.
Ex. President, South Asian Association of Neurosurgeons.

Life member:

Bangladesh Medical Association
Bangladesh Society of Neurosurgeons
Bangladesh Society of Surgeons
Bangladesh Cancer Society
Publications – 47 publications were published in different National & International Neurosurgical Journals.
Guided fifteen Thesis for MS (Master of Science) in Neurosurgery under Dhaka University
Attended annual many regional conferences.

Educational Qualification:

Name of the Exam Year of Passing School/College Board/University Division
S.S.C 1968 Comilla Zilla School Comilla Board First Division
H.S.C 1970 Dhaka College Dhaka Board First Division
MBBS April 1977 Dhaka Medical College Dhaka University Passed
FCPS July 1990 BCPS BCPS Passed
MS (Neurosurgery) 2003 Dhaka University Dhaka University Passed
Ph.D 2004 Kobe University Kobe University Passed
FICS 1993 Awarded fellowship of International College of Surgeons, USA   Awarded
Honorary FCPS April 2012 College of Physicians & Surgeons, Pakistan CPSP, Pakistan  
Honorary FSLCS August 2012 Sri Lanka College of Surgeons Sri Lanka College of Surgeons, Srilanka  

List of the Honourable Vice Chancellors:

Sl. No. Name From To
01. Professor M.A. Quadery 30 Apr 1998 09 Jan 2001
02. Professor Md. Tahir 10 Jan 2001 17 May 2001
03. Professor Mahmud Hasan 18 May 2001 23 Nov 2001
04. Professor M.A. Hadi 24 Nov 2001 21 Dec 2006
05. Professor Md. Tahir 21 Dec 2006 04 Nov 2008
06. Professor Md. Nazrul Islam 05 Nov 2008 24 Mar 2009
07. Professor Pran Gopal Datta 25 Mar 2009 24 Mar 2012
08. Professor Pran Gopal Datta 25 Mar 2012 24 Mar 2015
09. Professor Dr. Kamrul Hasan Khan 24 Mar 2015 23 Mar 2018
10. Professor Kanak Kanti Barua 24 Mar 2018 Present